Buddhism Series — the 7 Sets! — introduction

English: Painting of a bodhisattva benefiting ...

Buddhism in America is generally synonymous with Zen.  Also, American Zen is …unlike Asian Zen.  Asian Zen — Korean or Japanese Zen — is a religion.  It’s something like Catholicism:  highly structured, disciplines and rigorous.

–Different from the stuff you read in Shambhala magazine.  Pro tip:  If it compares the religion to quantum mechanics, or talks about mood management — it’s not what the Buddha taught.  The Buddha taught enlightenment.

This is Theravada Buddhism.  Different branch than Zen.  Based on the Pali canon — Pali being an ancient scholarly language.  Think of the Buddhists’ “ancient Greek.”

The basics:  Enlightenment is the goal.  Immediately we work for personal enlightenment.  Long term we work for the liberation of all sentient beings from suffering (via their enlightenment).  So the enlightenment of all sentient beings is our goal, while our own liberation is our objective.

The 7 Sets:  (some links are to articles being written)

Harmoniously, cordially, without dispute,
train yourselves in these qualities
that I have 
pointed out to you,
having known them directly

If you want to memorize them, note– This is a list of 7.  There are  there 3 fours, 2 five’s, 1 seven, and 1 eight.

They’re worth memorizing, and copying into a pocket notebook for odd moments!

For more information — see Wings For Awakening — an excellent book free online!


9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The 4 Spiritual Bodies in Buddhism — (part of the 7 sets series) « TiltedCandle
  2. Trackback: Enlightenment Is the Goal — What Is Enlightenment? (7 sets series) « TiltedCandle
  3. Trackback: The 5 Faculties and the 5 Strengths (part of the 7 Sets series!) « TiltedCandle
  4. Trackback: The 4 Frames of Reference (part of the 7 Sets series!) « TiltedCandle
  5. Trackback: The 7 Factors for Awakening — Waypoints on the Journey to Enlightenment (part of the 7 Sets series) « TiltedCandle
  6. Trackback: The Noble 8-fold Path and Obstacles on the Way (part of the 7 Sets series) « TiltedCandle
  7. Trackback: The 4 Noble Truths (not part of the 7 sets series!) « TiltedCandle
  8. Trackback: The 5 Aggregates (not part of the 7 sets series!) « TiltedCandle
  9. Trackback: Overview « TiltedCandle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


Invisible font color EFCB9B

Continuations Map

Continuations Selections

TiltedCandle posts are in the public domain.

wordpress stats plugin
%d bloggers like this: